//
you're reading...
Biscuits and Cookies, Chocolate, Sweet, Thoughts

Good mood wanted. Chocolate Orange Biscuits to the rescue

I imposed myself a strict rule when I started this blog; no intimate confession or personal rants. Still, today I have a terrible urge to write, and anything I produce is of no other use than unleashing the gloom I have been feeling in the past couple of weeks.

It’s one of those moments when I’d rather have anyone around me disappear with a snap of fingers, and what I get in return is four happy-merry-drinking-buddies of my flatmates sitting in the kitchen, eating delicious fish and looking at my frozen pizza with pity and contempt. Yes, frozen pizza. With a glass of tap water and an episode of Twin Peaks: tonight is’s Lonely Single Night, even if I have no reason to be either of the two. My social skills have fallen below Zero Kelvin today; reviving them looks like an effort too big to be worth it. And in case I forgot to mention, the people downstairs are laughing out so loud that their cheerfulness reaches the most remote corners of my brain, which makes me even more grumpy, as a reaction. Well, I guess there’s nothing to do about it: I’d better keep writing, if I want to avoid crawling back to the kitchen to binge on the chocolate in my cupboard.

There’s a lot I have been thinking about, these days. No surprise, when what you’re reflecting upon is people: something new adds up everyday, and if you can manage to remember what you learnt only yesterday, you can consider yourself to be quite lucky. Today, for example, I resat an exam I thought I had successfully passed long ago. That is, “how to cope with those annoying human beings who seem to only live to throw their happiness into your face”. I know, I know, I’m unfair. After all, it’s something everyone does, from time to time. Besides, age and practice made me pretty good at telling who does it on purpose and who is just extremely, undoubtedly happy. But again, that’s not what I wanted to write about in the beginning. And I see it, clearly – the risk of jumping into something too ardently biased for the time and place.

Let’s turn karma around, then: I spent the week attempting to cook – which is usually my favourite cure for bad mood – but almost anything I tried rapidly turned into a disaster. So, before another Julie-and-Julia-like meltdown occurs (I swear, I really look like that when I fail a recipe), I’ll share with you one of my past successes. Enough to raise my self-esteem, and hopefully give you a little treat, too: ready for some biscuits?

Chocolate Orange Biscuits

(makes 25 – 30 biscuits)

Ingredients

  • 150g all-purpose flour, sifted with 1 pinch of salt;
  • 60g butter;
  • 50g finely chopped almonds;
  • 50g sugar;
  • 1 tablespoon orange zest;
  • 2 tablespoons orange juice;
  • 1 egg yolk, whisked;
  • 125 g dark chocolate.

Recipe

  • Mix the butter with the sifted flour and salt, until you obtain a coarse dough.
  • Add the almonds, sugar and orange zest.
  • Add the egg yolk and orange juice.
  • Put the biscuit dough in the fridge, and leave it there for about 30 minutes.
  • Take the dough out of the fridge, and roll it out to about 5mm of thickness. Then carve it out with cookie cutters.
  • Pre-heat the oven to 180° and bake for other 30 minutes.
  • Let the biscuits cool down on a cooling rack; meanwhile, melt the chocolate in a double saucepan.
  • Dip one half of each biscuit in the chocolate melt, and put them back on the cooling rack until the icing becomes solid.

I’m not a great fan of oranges, but I can assure you these biscuits are lovely. Perfect with a little espresso after lunch: enjoy them and let me know if you every try them!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Whatever Gets You Through The Day and keep up with new posts by email.

Social Media

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Archives

The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014
