//
you're reading...
Cakes and Loaves, Chocolate, Sweet

Chocolate Truffle Torte

My constancy is shaking. For this, I apologise to all my readers: it has been really a long time since I last felt something that resembled inspiration.

I’ve done plenty of things in the meantime: I completed my internship (which was supposed to grant me some relevant working experience, but here I am, on the edge of a downright Unemployed Graduate’s Crisis whose end I cannot actually foresee); I spent three weeks of holiday between my overseas home and the seaside resort I used to consider as Heaven on Earth, looking for a bit of summer and finding nothing but my old friend – perpetual rain. I cried myself to insomnia, dreading the day I would have to step back on a plane and come back to London, because I knew what was expecting me here…and there it was, exactly as I had imagined it: one month of labour, juggling a master thesis I didn’t want to write and a few weeks of house-hunting; a week of preparation for the move, and then forced passiveness. I spent three weeks just looking for jobs, without anything else to do from morning to dinner time, and it already feels like ages. Which is not reassuring at all, if I think that three weeks might actually turn into three months, three years, and then a whole life.

I’ll say no more about that: I already vented tons and tons of unrequested sadness on my friends and my parents, who deserve better than a whining, despondent, good-for-nothing friend or daughter. Things will get better; I’m sure they will. I have always thought that what makes us suffer more is not our reason for suffering itself, but the fact that we don’t know, and cannot get to know, when bad times will end. And that’s happening, once again: not knowing when I will actually receive the invitation to the interview that will change my life is what really wears me out. If someone came up to me and told me “you’ll get a job on that particular day”, I’d strive to enjoy the time in between as it deserves, because at least I would have the certainty that change is on its way.

Speaking about change, let’s get straight to the point of this post. I’ve been thinking that I maybe should give a little twist to this blog – make it a little more focused, turn it into something well-defined, rather than a simple collection of random, uneven rants. The most interesting idea that came up until now is to turn it into a food blog, with each post having its own recipe: I love cooking, and it is actually getting me through these dark days. For a start, here’s a recipe for you; I highly recommend you try it!

Chocolate Truffle Torte

(serves 10 – 12)

Prepare the crust:

  • Put 50g caster sugar and 2 eggs in a heatproof bowl, set over a saucepan of simmering water.
  • Whisk together until pale and resembling the texture of mousse.
  • Sift in 40g flour and 25g cocoa powder, and mix gently.
  • Pour into a greased cake tin, and bake in the oven (220°) for 7-10 minutes, until risen and firm.
  • Transfer the crust to a wire rack to cool, and then put it back into the tin, which you will have washed and dried in the meantime.
  • Finally, mix together 4 tablespoons strong black coffee and 2 tablespoons brandy, and brush the resulting liquid over the cake crust in the tin.

Prepare the chocolate cream:

  • Put 425g plain chocolate in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water, and let it melt.
  • Gently add the melted chocolate to 600ml whipped cream.
  • Pour the mixture over the crust, and let the cake chill in the fridge until the cream is firm.
  • Serve with cocoa and icing sugar sifted over the top, if you like. Whatever you choose, I promise you that you’ll love it.
Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Of Muffins And Flatmate Ingratitude | Whatever Gets You Through The Day - July 24, 2013

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Whatever Gets You Through The Day and keep up with new posts by email.

Social Media

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Archives

The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014
