//
you're reading...
Cakes and Loaves, Chocolate

Goodbye unemployment, hello early mornings. Hey, Marble Cheesecake

This week’s Great News is that I have a job. It took me almost four months, hundreds of refusals, millions of no-replies, liters of tears and tons of mindless self-indulgence, but I finally got here; I still don’t know how, and considering my self-esteem issues I probably never will, but hey: does it really matter? I have a job. I have a job.

I went through a telephone interview during which I probably sounded like an awkward mess: try answering questions like what kind of person do you think we are looking for? while walking around Victoria Street in search of a quiet spot that you won’t find, and then we’ll talk. I survived a 3-hour assessment centre that brought back to light my ancient troubles with mathematics and Microsoft Excel, and answered to a series of tricky interview questions that the Spanish Inquisition could not have asked better. (Curious about why the hell an aspirant writer should look for a secretarial job? Because not all writers are good and potentially successful writers, for a start. And then because you may not get into publishing with two degrees and an English as a Foreign Language certificate – but that doesn’t mean you cannot still be the kind of obsessive organisational geek that makes a good secretary).

After all of this, and right when I was losing my hopes of ever getting back home to the huge pizza that was waiting for me, I was offered the job. And I accepted, because I am precisely the kind of obsessive organisational geek that makes a good secretary, and because I can always be a writer or a freelance translator during the evening, or the weekend, or even the lunch break. Hopefully.

I will now resist the temptation of singing The dog days are ove-errr, the do-oo-og days a-aaare done while manically jumping on my bed, because the mattress will probably breathe its last if I do. Oh, and because from next Monday I will have to wake up at 7 every morning, and have breakfast on the tube – of course, if I am lucky enough to get a seat. I also imagine I will have poorer and quicker lunches, but that’s not a big deal, considering that I need to lose some weight before I have to upgrade my whole wardrobe to a bigger size. In the meantime, celebration is mandatory – so, while waiting for a chance to bake the amaretti cake I had sworn I would make as soon as I got a job, I will treat you with another sweet delight, hoping that you will enjoy it as much as I enjoyed it last weekend.

Healthier Marble Cheesecake

(freely inspired from here; makes 8 – 10 slices)

Ingredients

  • 90g reduced fat Digestive biscuits
  • about 30g butter, melted
  • 680g low-fat cream cheese
  • 200g sugar
  • 25g flour
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 4 large egg whites
  • 30g milk chocolate.

Recipe

  • Break the biscuits into small crumbs, and mix them with the melted butter in a bowl.
  • Pour the mixture in a greased cake tin, spreading it evenly until the bottom is entirely covered.
  • Pre-heat the oven to 160° and bake for 8-10 minutes, then set aside to cool down.
  • Place the cream cheese in a large bowl, and beat it with a mixer until smooth.
  • Aadd the sugar and flour, and keep on beating.
  • Mix the vanilla extract and egg whites in a separate bowl, then add them to the cheese mixture.
  • Pour the cream into the pan, above the biscuit base.
  • Melt the chocolate in a heatproof bowl, over simmering water. Pour it over the cream, swirling with a fork to create a decorative pattern.
  • Bake the cake at 160° for 35 minutes, or until almost set (the cheesecake should slightly leave the side of the tin).
  • Cool on a wire rack, then cover and chill at least 4 hours in the fridge.
Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Whatever Gets You Through The Day and keep up with new posts by email.

Social Media

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Archives

The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014
