//
you're reading...
Muffins, Sweet

Healthier treats: Honey Nut Muffins and a simple baking tip

If you’re anything like me, you’ll have a Healthy Eater Conscience that watches over your eating habits. I haven’t always had one, but I’m happy to have it now. Over the years, it has made me much more aware of what I eat, and taught me what “enough” and “not too much” mean. It has inspired me the love of food: one of the greatest gifts that life has given me so far.

Yes, I like my Healthy Eater Conscience; however, it isn’t always easy to live with. If you have one, you’ll know the feeling. Imagine not making all the recipes you’d like to try in a new cookbook, because they contain too much butter for your Healthy Eater Conscience to bear: it takes a lot of effort to remind yourself that you’re doing it for your own good, and even that is hard to believe, sometimes.

If you love baking, you’ll be glad to hear that there’s a very simple and effective way to make your recipes a little healthier. I discovered it recently, while looking for a recipe for Chobani‘s CHObrunch challenge: you can use fat-free yoghurt as an alternative to many fattier ingredients, such as  butter, oil, and cream cheese. This baking tip was in the kit that Chobani sent me in preparation for the challenge; I want to share it with you, today, so you can bake yourself a treat without worrying about what your Healthy Eater Conscience will say.

How To Bake With Fat-Free Yoghurt
– Replace 1 cup butter (230g) with 1/2 cup butter (115g) + 1/4 cup fat-free yoghurt (53g)
– Replace 1 cup oil (235ml) with 3/4 cup fat-free yoghurt (158g)
– Replace 1 cup milk (235ml) with 3/4 cup milk (177ml) + 1/4 cup fat-free yoghurt (53g)
– Replace 1 cup buttermilk (235ml) with 1/3 cup milk or buttermilk (80ml) + 2/3 cup fat-free yoghurt (139g)
– Replace 1 cup sour cream (120g) or cream cheese (240g) with 1 cup fat-free yoghurt (210g)

If you want to start experimenting, try this muffin recipe, and let me know how you like it!

Honey Nut Muffins

(makes 12 muffins)

Rose Garden Muffins - Yogurt, Honey and NutAfter making my Butterless Pizza Muffins, I had a half pot of Chobani plain yoghurt left; I decided to use it for a sweet treat that could suit brunch time, as well as a tasty breakfast. Choosing my recipe required a lot of internet browsing, cookbook perusing, and drooling over inspiring Pinterest boards. I had started my search with the intention of making cupcakes, but when I saw these Maple Yoghurt Pecan Muffins on Completely Delicious, I instantly felt compelled to create something similar.

To me, muffins always win over cupcakes. Sure, cupcakes are cute. And delicious. But I can’t indulge in a cupcake as lightheartedly as I indulge in a couple of muffins – and the reason, once again, is my Healthy Eater Conscience: it hasn’t yet overcome its fear of buttercream icing. That’s one of the reasons why muffins win. That, and the fact that buttercream icing can sometimes be too sugary. Even a sweet tooth has boundaries for “too” sweet!

Ingredients

  • 75g unsalted butter
  • 50g sugar
  • 115g runny honey
  • 245g natural yoghurt (I used Chobani Plain Fat Free Authentic Strained Yoghurt)
  • 2 eggs
  • 250g plain flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 50g chopped pecans
  • 50g chopped walnuts
  • Pecan halves for topping (optional)

Instructions

  • In a small saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat. Once completely melted, let it cool down for a few minutes.
  • In a large bowl, mix the dry ingredients: flour, sugar, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, salt, and cinnamon.
  • In a separate bowl, beat together the wet ingredients: butter, honey, yoghurt, and eggs.

Rose Garden Yogurt Honey Nut Muffins - Wet Ingredients

  • Pour the wet mixture into the bowl with the dry ingredients, and mix until almost combined.
  • Add the chopped pecans and walnuts, and mix until just homogeneous.

Pecans and Walnuts

  • Fill a muffin tin with the batter. You can get quite creative here: I made rose-shaped muffins, using a silicon muffin mould, which doesn’t need greasing. I then poured the remaining batter into a standard 12-hole muffin tin, which I had previously greased with butter.
  • Top each muffin with a pecan half. I skipped this part for the rose-shaped muffins, which needed turning upside-down before serving, but found it was a quite nice way to decorate the “plain” muffins.

Yogurt Honey Nut Muffins

  • Pre-heat the oven to 200°. Bake for at least 15 minutes, until the muffins are golden, and a sharp knife inserted into the center comes out clean. For best results, leave the muffins in the oven for 5 more minutes after turning it off.
  • Let the muffins cool in the tin for 5 minutes, then transfer them to a wire rack or plate. Let them cool
    completely before serving.
  • Store the muffins in an airtight container, or another closed space, such as a cold oven. They will keep very well for at least 3 – 4 days.

Yogurt Honey Nut MuffinsNote: These muffins are one of my entries to Chobani’s CHObrunch Challenge. Chobani supplied me with the yoghurt I used for the batter, as part of a baking kit they sent me when I signed up for the contest.
To build the How To Bake With Fat-Free Yoghurt chart, I calculated the metric equivalents of cups using the Cooking Ingredients Conversion Tool on Convert-me.com.

Discussion

13 thoughts on “Healthier treats: Honey Nut Muffins and a simple baking tip

  1. Glad to see you’re living the healthy swaps dream! Your rose muffin mould is just gorgeous – what a great trick for sweet presentation. We can’t wait to cook these up next week!

    Posted by Chobani | June 7, 2013, 3:43 PM
    • Thank you for the healthy swap tip in the first place, and hope you enjoy the muffins! Feel free to experiment with shapes if you don’t have a rose muffin mould…I bet they’ll look great in any form 🙂

      Posted by Iris B. | June 8, 2013, 8:55 AM
  2. These look delicious! I love the rose muffin mould – I’ll have to get me one of those, along with a Healthy Eater Conscience. I think I need to reduce how much processed sugar I eat and start cutting down on the cupcakes. It’ll be for my own good and I think muffins like these as a substitute will make the process a little easier 🙂

    Posted by ThisBakerGirlBlogs | June 8, 2013, 9:09 AM
    • Glad these muffins inspired you! There are so many recipes that can suit experimenting with yogurt just as well, so you’re absolutely right – this baking tip should make the effort to cut down on sugar much more pleasant. Happy to swap recipe ideas if you try anything new 🙂

      Posted by Iris B. | June 8, 2013, 10:26 AM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: A Glass of Morning Goodness: Honey Nut Granola and Raspberry Yogurt Parfaits | Whatever Gets You Through The Day - June 12, 2013

  2. Pingback: I’ve Got An Announcement To Make, And Chocolate Brownies To Celebrate | Whatever Gets You Through The Day - June 24, 2013

  3. Pingback: Out And About: My Round-Up Of Food Blogger Connect 5 | Whatever Gets You Through The Day - July 14, 2013

  4. Pingback: A Lunchtime Feast At The South Bank Turkish Fest | Whatever Gets You Through The Day - August 2, 2013

  5. Pingback: Tales From My Kitchen: August Recipe Roundup | Whatever Gets You Through The Day - September 1, 2013

  6. Pingback: Lemon Yoghurt and Blueberry Cheesecake Bars: A New Cooking Challenge | Whatever Gets You Through The Day - September 16, 2013

  7. Pingback: Tales From My Kitchen: October Recipe Roundup | Whatever Gets You Through The Day - November 10, 2013

  8. Pingback: Whatever Gets You Through 2013: Highlights From Last Year | Whatever Gets You Through The Day - December 31, 2013

  9. Pingback: Tales from my kitchen: April and May Recipe Roundup | Whatever Gets You Through The Day - June 3, 2014

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Whatever Gets You Through The Day and keep up with new posts by email.

Social Media

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Archives

The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014
