//
you're reading...
Thoughts

The world in 7 photos and 7 quotes [blog challenge]

Life has been hectic, lately. Just as I rejoiced for having sorted my blog post schedule for the next few weeks (and indeed, for preparing such a grown-up thing as a blog post schedule in the first place), all that could possibly keep me from writing came in the way: work, which has given me a harder time than usual, but also, and thankfully, a couple of fun foodie events I hope to tell you about very soon. The result? No time whatsoever to cook things worth writing about, or write about the things I’ve been cooking. My blogger self isn’t feeling very proud, and with very good reason, as my organised and efficient self would argue.

While I work my way through the backlog, I thought I’d take a short break from food. All’s thanks to Emma, who invited me to take part in her blog challenge: matching seven quotes to seven photos, united by the common thread of “How we see the world”. The word “challenge” is quite befitting: when it comes to collecting a lifetime of impressions in one post, seven is such a small number! And yet, it was all the browsing and reflecting I went through that made preparing this post so enjoyable. Here’s how I see the world (or, at least, seven of the many million ways I see it), and I hope you’ll enjoy the result. Drop me a comment if you care to share how you see it, and don’t forget to check out the other bloggers who took part.

To love. To be loved. To never forget your own insignificance. To never get used to the unspeakable violence and the vulgar disparity of life around you. To seek joy in the saddest places. To pursue beauty to its lair. To never simplify what is complicated or complicate what is simple. To respect strength, never power. Above all, to watch. To try and understand. To never look away. And never, never, to forget. Thank you for reminding” (Arundhati Roy)

Barcelona - El Raval“It’s about misunderstandings between people and places, being disconnected and looking for moments of connection. There are so many moments in life when people don’t say what they mean, when they are just missing each other, waiting to run into each other in a hallway” (Sofia Coppola on “Lost in Translation”)

Prague Underground - Dejvicka Station“The question for me wasn’t if art got us. The question was, ‘Do we regret that?’. I know art got us, because if art gets you, you never can be normal. You can never enjoy. You can’t go anywhere without trying to transform it, you know? You go into church to pray, and you start writing a story about being in a church praying. You’re always observing what you do. I noticed that when I was young going to parties. I could never lose myself in a party unless I was on the dance floor because I was always observing – observing or creating a mental scenario” (Patti Smith)

Writing at the Tate Modern TerraceYou know, people used to write reviews and say, ‘She’s cynical and depressed,’ and I think she was the exact opposite of that. She figured out a way to make her life more exciting just by imagining the things around her being charged with some kind of mystery and energy that’s possibly not actually there, but that she’s giving to them. She’s able to look at people on the street and imagine these huge, important stories about them and to create drama out of very small things in her life. And I think that’s kind of the best you can hope for when you’re stuck like she is” (Daniel Clowes on “Ghost World”‘s lead character Enid Coleslaw)

The Unbearable Lightness of BeingThe world always seems brighter when you’ve just made something that wasn’t there before” (Neil Gaiman)

Prague - Lennon Wall

I take a few steps and stop. I savor the total oblivion into which I have fallen. I am between two cities, one knows nothing of me, the other knows me no longer. (J. P. Sartre)

Udine - Railway Station“And clenching your fist for the ones like us who are oppressed by the figures of beauty,
you fixed yourself, you said, ‘Well, never mind
we are ugly, but we have the music'” (Leonard Cohen, Chelsea Hotel n°2)

Unknown Pleasures Record Shop - Edinburgh

Discussion

7 thoughts on “The world in 7 photos and 7 quotes [blog challenge]

  1. Lovely – I particularly enjoyed the “I take a few steps and stop. I savor the total oblivion into which I have fallen. I am between two cities, one knows nothing of me, the other knows me no longer. (J. P. Sartre)” beautiful!

    Posted by LondonKiwiEmma | November 3, 2013, 3:05 PM
  2. I love your pictures – Amazing Observations! I guess Patti Smith would agree, my favourite quote!

    Posted by Caroline | November 4, 2013, 1:34 PM
  3. The first two quotes resonate so much with me … such beautiful photographs. This was so wonderful to read – thank you for sharing x

    Posted by ThisBakerGirlBlogs | November 9, 2013, 8:32 AM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Tales From My Kitchen: October Recipe Roundup | Whatever Gets You Through The Day - November 10, 2013

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Whatever Gets You Through The Day and keep up with new posts by email.

Social Media

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Archives

The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014
