//
you're reading...
Biscuits and Cookies, Sweet

Chocolate Button Biscuits for the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap

The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014When I told my friends that I baked three batches of biscuits for the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap, their jaws dropped in awe. That’s so exciting, they squealed; such an accomplishment…where do you find the time? I tried to play it down, flattered and embarrassed at once. It really didn’t take that long; I really don’t mind cooking after a long working day; the recipe wasn’t that complex after all. And then I thought, what a load of crap. Want the naked truth? Baking has been everything but easy of late, and by the time I approached the Cookie Swap challenge, my confidence had reached an all time low.

I set out to bake my first batch of cookies on the third weekend in November. Over the previous two weeks, I’d spent time and money on bakes I found annoyingly underwhelming, and looked forward to an opportunity to regain faith in my skills. Little did I know that the first recipe I tested would turn out spectacularly awful: picture a slab of shapeless, overbaked dough, looking nothing like the pretty round cookies I’d seen in the recipe’s Pinterest-worthy pictures. There I was, facing the third baking fail in three weeks; I’d wasted the only weekend I could dedicate to baking before the deadline, and hadn’t thought of a Plan B.

Apricot and White Chocolate Cookies

Recipe 1: The calm before the storm…

 

What next? The usual: getting my act together and finding the energy to bake on the few evenings I had left (not the easiest task after a stretch of 10-hour working days, but my only option nonetheless). Searching far and wide for a recipe I could trust. Breathing sighs of relief when I discovered that my biscuits were as good as the smell coming from the kitchen promised. Finding that, despite all my worries, I was already looking forward to the next Cookie Swap. I love the thrill of receiving packages full of homemade treats, and enjoy making someone’s day with a sweet surprise even more.

It only hits me now that around 150 biscuits travelled through my kitchen, feeding a crowd that reached far beyond my Cookie Swap matches. My partner and I, munching on cookies while watching episode after episode of The Killing; my work colleagues, and his colleagues too, adding up to more than 50 people. It was the first time I baked on such a large scale, and I feel proud, for my Chocolate Button Biscuits were a hit with everyone who tried them. I hope Laura, Annie and Roshni enjoyed them as much as the ravenous cookie monsters at my office did. And I hope they’ll try my recipe when they need to feed an army of chocolate lovers, because one thing’s for sure: it works a treat.

Chocolate Button Biscuits

(makes 45 – 50 biscuits)

Chocolate Button Biscuits - Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014

Ingredients

  • 100g butter
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 40ml skimmed milk
  • 50g melted dark chocolate (85% cocoa)
  • 50g cocoa powder
  • 230 – 250g plain flour

Recipe (adapted from Emma Jane’s Super Chocolatey Ganache Sandwich Cookies)

  • Whisk the butter and sugar together until you obtain a smooth cream, with no butter lumps.
  • In a separate bowl, mix the egg with the milk.
  • Add the egg and milk mixture to the butter and sugar cream, and stir well to combine.
  • Add the melted dark chocolate and sifted cocoa powder, and stir until you obtain a smooth brown mixture.
  • Gradually sift the flour it into the bowl, mixing to incorporate it. You may not need all of it: keep adding flour until the dough no longer sticks to your hands, and you can shape it into a ball.
  • Roll the dough on a floured work surface, to a thickness of around 4mm.
  • Shape the biscuits with a round cookie cutter, and stamp them with a button cookie stamp.
  • Place the biscuits on two baking trays, lined with greaseproof paper.
  • Put the trays in the fridge and chill for 45 – 60 minutes, then pre-heat the oven to 200°C and bake for 15-18 minutes.
  • Arrange on a wire rack to cool, then serve and enjoy.
  • Store any leftovers in an airtight container. They will keep well for up to 1 week (at least, that’s as long as mine lasted!).

Wait, there’s more!

My Cookie Swap wasn’t all flour, sweat and tears: three parcels of cookies landed on my desk at work over the past couple of weeks, each one every bit as lovely as the amazing stuff I received last year.

Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014

Thank you Ellie, Becca and Kirsty, from the bottom of my heart. I can’t think of a better way to begin the festive season, than on such a sweet note.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Whatever Gets You Through The Day and keep up with new posts by email.

Social Media

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Archives

The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014
