//
you're reading...
Blog Updates

A little something different – Career Inspiration interview with Prettygreentea

Happy Easter break! I hope lots of relax and amazing food is coming your way this long weekend; I have exciting plans myself, as my best friend is coming to visit from Italy, for the first time since I moved to the UK nearly five years ago. We’ll kick off our Easter break with a visit to Borough Market this lunchtime, head down to Duke of York Square Market in Chelsea tomorrow, maybe walk up to Lisboa Patisserie for breakfast on Sunday…and there’ll be homemade chocolate cake at my flat, too. Get the picture? We’ll be eating loads. That’s what festive breaks are for, right?

I plan to stay as far from my computer as I can this weekend, so I thought I’d share something you might enjoy reading while I’m away. Daisy at Prettygreentea runs a Career Inspiration interview series on her blog, designed to help people looking for career inspiration, a career change, or an insight into what others do; this week’s guest is, well, moi. In this post on Daisy’s blog, I answer her questions on moving to another country to build a career and working as Project Manager – which, in case you feel you’re missing a trick, is what I do to fund the gigantic carb and sugar binges you lovely readers know me for.

Prague - The Mirror Maze

I don’t often share details of my work life on my blog, and when I do, it’s usually the bad days that make the cut (most of the time, because they give way to the hugest carb and sugar binges of all). But here’s the truth: one year ago, when I was looking for a new job, I would never have imagined that I was about to land a role I’d enjoy so much. I do things I’d never have imagined doing in a professional context before. I have freedom to get creative, experiment, and put new ideas forward. It’s hard work, and hours are sometimes long, but many of the things I get involved with and learn every day are inspiring and engaging like I’d never thought work could be. Life feels good more often than it feels bad. Even I, with my “every silver lining has a cloud” attitude and all that, recognise that I’m in a much better place than I was last year, or even the year before.

If anything you’ve read so far sparked your interest, or you simply want to find out more about a part of my life you won’t necessarily see much of on this blog, read my interview here. And once you’re on the other side, have a look at the other interviews in Daisy’s Career Inspiration series, too. They’re really inspiring and entertaining to read; I wouldn’t be surprised if the winning insight for your next venture lies in there!

I’ll be back next week, with a recipe that will make my fellow bread lovers out there very happy. What do you say to fresh homemade focaccia?

Foodelicious - Rosemary Onion Focaccia

Discussion

One thought on “A little something different – Career Inspiration interview with Prettygreentea

  1. I still remember our conversation from the first time we met and how much you longed for something more out of a career and you have no idea how happy it makes me to hear you found it – you go girl! Heading over to Daisy’s site to take a look at your interview, and then I’ll be back here later for that focaccia – I ate tons of it whilst on my trip to Italy and loved it!

    Posted by Nazia @ Your Sunny Side Up | April 9, 2015, 4:23 PM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Whatever Gets You Through The Day and keep up with new posts by email.

Social Media

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Archives

The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014
